Jay Afrisando:

Music composer. Sonic artist.

Jay uses sound and other media to share awareness of human-nature-technology relationships and diverse hearing profiles that is communicated through range of approaches: from musical composition to sound installation, from acoustic to electroacoustic, from fixed-media to improvisation, from implied to overt participatory-setting that invites audience to the very making, and everything in-between.


His works have been presented at Aural Diversity Conference 2019, October Meeting 2019,  Seoul International Computer Music Conference 2019, ICMC-NYCEMF 2019 (NY), Linux Audio Conference 2019 (CA), Disability Awareness Week 2019 (VA), Drone Not Drones 2019 (MN), Fifteen Minutes of Fame 2015: Alex Lubet (NY), Seattle Art Museum (WA), Montalvo Arts Center (CA), and National Gugak Center (KR).


He was awarded the Ambassador's Award for Excellence 2019 by the Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia for the United States, the 2016 Minnesota Emerging Composer Award by the American Composers Forum, Hibah Seni Karya Inovatif (Innovative Art Grant) 2016 by Yayasan Kelola, and the 2nd Prize composition winner of Prix Annelie de Man 2015. He participated in the OneBeat 2015 residency in the US and the 2014 International Fellowship in Study of Korean Music in South Korea. He is a co-author of “Basic Music Technology: An Introduction” published by Springer in 2018.

  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Vimeo Icon
  • Grey SoundCloud Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon

© Jay Afrisando 2020